Indiana Teach Plus picks 5 from Fort Wayne area


Teach Plus has named five northeast Indiana teachers as fellows of the inaugural Indiana Teach Plus Policy Fellowship.

Local honorees are:

• Dominique Barnes of Mabel K. Holland Elementary School in Fort Wayne;

• Chris McGrew and Jean Russell of Haverhill Elementary in Southwest Allen County Schools;

• Robert McKerr of Carroll High School, and;

• Jessica Carlson of Garrett Middle School in Garrett.

The 20 teachers chosen statewide teach in urban, suburban and rural districts. Fellows are leaders in their K-12 schools and communities.

The Indiana Teaching Policy Fellowship is an opportunity for 20 teachers to deepen their knowledge of education policy and gain a voice in decisions that affect students and the teaching profession. During the 12-month program, fellows will look to magnify the impact they have in their classrooms through personal interactions with education leaders and opportunities to advocate for policies around key state-level issues, such as the creation and expansion of career pathways for teacher leaders.