Inaugural PopCon coming to Grand Wayne on Dec. 29-30


FORT WAYNE — PopCon, a celebration of all things pop culture, will come to Fort Wayne’s Grand Wayne Convention Center for the first time 10 a.m.-8 p.m. Saturday Dec. 29, and 10 a.m.-5 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 30. Founded five years ago in Indianapolis, Indiana’s premiere ComiCon is a safe, fun, family-friendly event that is welcoming and supportive of all people, with or without costumes! Tickets, available online or at the door, are $10 for ages 3-12 for all weekend, $30 adult single day and $50 adult weekend. To buy tickets or for more information, visit Event highlights include:

· Laser tag, featuring rooms designated for two teams to battle.

· Big cosplay contest hosted by CosAwesome and Alexis Pritchard. Enter your costume online or come and watch.

· Retro arcade game, a stand-up arcade with proceeds going to nonprofits such as Epilepsy Foundation, American Cancer Society and Wounded Warriors.

· Icon e-sports tournaments, including games like Teken 7, Dragon Ball Fighterz, Smash Bros 4, Blast Ball, Runbow and Ultimate Marvel vs Capcon.

· Vendors and artist alley.

· Breakfast Anytime Improv.

· “Fort Night” celebration Saturday night.

· Virtual reality, hosted by Spectrum, allows visitors to become a space warrior and fight droids.

· 24-hour tabletop gaming room.

· Gaming library hosted by Whos Yer Gamers, Iello, Japanime, Arcane Wonders, Mindzeye Gaming and Purvis Gaming.

· Board gaming featuring 50 tables designated for free-play tabletop board gaming. Play test games, play entire games, run a game with friends or meet new ones (sign up online), or sign up online to play “Dungeons & Dragons” in four-hour sessions with professional Dungeon Masters.

· Panel discussions on how to start cosplaying, how to YouTube, suicide prevention and more.

· Artists, including Joe Corroney (“Star Trek,” “Doctor Who,” “Star Wars”) and Tattoo Bob.

· Celebrities and voice actors, including Butch Patrick, Barry Bostwick, Taylor Gray, Monica Rial, Jamie Marchi and David Sobolov.

· Authors, including Jody Nye (“Dreamland” series) and Eric Flint (“1632 Ring of Fire” series).