Homestead radio station earns first place at state competition


FORT WAYNE — Homestead High School’s radio station, The Point 91.1 FM, finished as Radio School of the Year against more than 50 other high schools, career centers, and vocational programs throughout the state of Indiana at the annual Indiana Association of School Broadcasters (IASB) awards ceremony on Monday, March 11th at the University of Indianapolis. This is the program’s third straight radio state championship.

Senior Cory Balkenbusch and sophomores Matt Saalfrank and Christina Kruger each took first place awards. Balkenbusch won for Sportscast, a reading of Sports News on The Point 91FM. Saalfrank won in Play-by-Play for his call of Homestead vs South Side girls basketball Sectional Championship game from February. Kruger won for her Spot Production, a 30-second audio promotion for The Point 91FM.

Second place winners included Balkenbusch for Live Newscast (third straight year he has finished second or better in this category), Kruger for Radio Interview of local band Strange Waters, seniors Ellie Davis and Jessica Walter for Radio Talk Show for their after-school show “Wild Ride,” sophomore Drew Persinger for Imaging, which is a collage of audio liners and jingles that play on The Point 91FM between songs and sophomore John Lane for Spot Production.

Third place winners included junior Donnie Harmon for Play-by-Play for his call of Homestead boys basketball at Northrop in January and sophomores Easton Hensley and Tyler Veit for Radio Show, a brand new category that focuses more on the traditional DJ work of introducing music on The Point 91FM.

This year marked the first time IASB recognized Honorable Mentions and students from Homestead that earned those accolades include junior Carson Clymer for Radio Newscast, senior Abigail Boylan for In-Depth, Harmon for Interview, the team of Harmon, Saalfrank and Clymer for Sporting Event Broadcast, and Kruger along with sister, freshman Catherine Kruger, for Radio Show.

The Point 91FM, Allen County’s only high school radio station, has been competing in the IASB state competition since 1999. Homestead also won Radio School of the Year in 2017 and 2018, having never finishing higher than 2nd place in their history of competing at IASB before then.

In the Television category, Homestead junior Derek Hockemeyer took home 2nd place for Music Video and the school’s weekly newscast, HHS In Depth, earned Honorable Mention for School Newscast.

Homestead’s Radio and TV departments have nearly 100 students enrolled in their program throughout each school day. The programs are directed by Adam Schenkel (2004-present) and the radio station is managed by Andy Dunn (2013-present). The Point 91FM broadcasts 24 hours a day and is run entirely by students throughout the school day and until 4:00PM on weekdays. Students also broadcast Homestead High School extra-curricular events as well as athletics throughout the school year. The 91.1FM website can be found at Students in Homestead’s television broadcasting program create a weekly newscast called HHS In Depth, over news occurring within the school. The show airs to students and staff every Friday during the school day. The HHS media YouTube channel can be found at

The IASB conference and awards is a day dedicated for current high school students in the entire state of Indiana. Over 900 students attended the ceremony on the campus of UIndy, marking the largest attendance in the program’s history (which dates back to 1986).

IASB 2019 Awards for Homestead High School


Homestead High School – Radio School of the Year

First Place

Cory Balkenbusch – Sportscast

Matt Saalfrank – Play-by-Play

Christina Kruger – Spot Production

Second Place

Cory Balkenbusch – Live News Anchor

Christina Kruger – Interview

Ellie Davis and Jessica Walter – Talk Show

John Lane – Spot Production

Drew Persinger – Imaging

Third Place

Donnie Harmon – Play-by-Play

Easton Hensley and Tyler Veit – Radio Show

Honorable Mention

Carson Clymer – Live News Anchor

Abigail Boylan – In-Depth

Donnie Harmon – Interview

Donnie Harmon, Matt Saalfrank and Carson Clymer – Sporting Event Broadcast

Christina Kruger and Catherine Kruger – Radio Show


Second Place

Derek Hockemeyer – Music Video

Honorable Mention

HHS In Depth Class – School Newscast