Lilly scholars announced


April 29, 2019 – Fort Wayne, IN – The Community Foundation of Greater Fort Wayne has named five Allen County students as the 2019 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars. The students will receive a four year, full tuition scholarship to an Indiana college of their choice and a $900 yearly book stipend for required books and equipment. In order to be eligible, Allen County students have to demonstrate successfully overcoming an obstacle, as well as show financial need, academic performance, and community involvement and provide a personal statement of goals.

The 2019 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars for Allen County are:

  • Sidney Armstrong, New Haven High School, plans to attend Indiana University – Bloomington to pursue a degree in Nursing.
  • Jefferson Hughes, Carroll High School, will attend Purdue University to pursue a degree in Atmospheric Sciences.
  • Julia Jorgensen, R. Nelson Snider High School, will attend Butler University to pursue a degree in Psychology.
  • Alexander Summers, East Allen University, will attend Purdue University Fort Wayne to pursue a degree in Computer Science.
  • Mario Villegas-Gonzalez, Bishop Dwenger High School, will attend Trine University to pursue a degree in Exercise Science/Biology.

“On behalf of Allen County, we express our appreciation and gratitude to Lilly Endowment Inc. and Independent Colleges of Indiana for providing this very generous support,” remarked Brad Little, President and CEO of the Community Foundation of Greater Fort Wayne. “These young students have persevered through unimaginable circumstances. It’s both humbling and a privilege to help these deserving young people reach their academic goals. We wish them continued success on their educational journeys and look forward to their positive impact.”

Statewide there was 143 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships awarded. Out of ninety-two Allen County students who applied, twenty-seven applications were nominated for review by the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Selection Committee at the Community Foundation. Finalists’ applications were then submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana for the final selection of the recipients.

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.